Dynamic Walking 2006 Ann Arbor May 6-8
DW2006 > Introduction


Latest News: Dynamic Walking 2007 will be held in Finland. Click here for preliminary information.

News: Access files and participate in tutorial discussions here.

News: A new workshop forum is now available for questions and comments.

News: Scientific Program and Tutorial schedules.

News: Fill out the Feedback Survey, comment on tutorials or workshop.

News: On-line Archive of Abstracts is available.

News: View and upload photos from the meeting.

This is a workshop dedicated to the study of human or robot locomotion. Dynamic Walking is an approach that emphasizes the mechanics of the legs, attempting to harness or understand them for the purpose of making control simpler or more economical. The approach stems from the principles of passive dynamic walking developed by Tad McGeer, extending those principles for actively powered walking. The workshop differs from mainstream conferences in three ways:

  • Highly informal and fluid format, to promote open sharing of information
  • Interdisciplinary forum for shared interests of biomechanists, roboticists, neurophysiologists, and computer scientists
  • Educational mission intended to disseminate knowledge and methodology of Dynamic Walking

Dynamic Walking 2006 will include:
  • Tutorials covering topics such as dynamical equations of motion, limit cycle and stability analysis, and feedback control and estimation
  • Keynote and invited presentations delivered by leading researchers
  • Submitted presentations of new research and methodology
  • Moderated forums for discussing emerging issues and challenges
Dynamic Walking 2006 is a continuation of a series of informal meetings that began in 2004. Previous meetings have been held at Cornell University, University of Michigan, and Carnegie Mellon University.
Keynote Speakers
    Tad McGeer, The Insitu Group
    Chris Atkeson, Carnegie Mellon University
    Steve Collins, University of Michigan
    Max Donelan, Simon Fraser University
    Andy Ruina, Cornell University
    Martijn Wisse, Delft University
Meeting Chair
    Art Kuo, University of Michigan